The hemohidrosis (or hematidrosis) of Christ

by

gethsemane

Gethsemane

http://www.prophezine.com/PZArticles/PassoverOverviewByRobinSampson/tabid/852/Default.aspx

Jesus ate the Passover meal with eleven of His disciples (see Passover in Bible Times). Just as the priest was to teach, pray, and offer sacrifice, Christ, the High Priest, taught, prayed, and then offered Himself as our sacrifice.
After the Meal

When Jesus had spoken these words, he went forth with his disciples over the brook Cedron, where was a garden, into the which he entered, and his disciples. (John 18:1).

Jesus went to the Garden of Gethsemane. The garden has many ancient olive trees today, some of which may have grown from the roots of the trees that were present in Jesus’ time. (All trees in and around Jerusalem were cut down when the Romans conquered the city in 70 a.d. Olive trees can regenerate from their roots and live for thousands of years.) The name Gethsemane comes from the Hebrew Gat Shmanim, meaning “oil press” (Kollek). Since oil is used in the Bible to symbolize the Holy Spirit, it may be said that the garden is where “the Spirit of God was crushed” (Missler 1995).

It was here that Jesus agonized in prayer over what was to occur. It is significant that this is the only place in the King James Version where the word agony is mentioned (Strong’s concordance). The Greek word for agony means to be “engaged in combat” (Pink). Jesus agonized over what He was to go through, feeling that He was at the point of death (Mark 14:34). Yet He prayed, “Not my will, but thine be done” (Terasaka 1996).

Of medical significance is that Luke mentions Him as having sweat like blood. The medical term for this, hemohidrosis, or hematidrosis, has been seen in patients who have experienced extreme stress or shock to their systems (Edwards). The capillaries around the sweat pores become fragile, and leak blood into the sweat. A case history is recorded in which a young girl who had a fear of air raids in World War I developed the condition after a gas explosion occurred in the house next door (Scott). Another report mentions a nun who, as she was threatened with death by the swords of the enemy soldiers, “was so terrified that she bled from every part of her body and died of hemorrhage in the sight of her assailants.” (Grafenberg) As a memorial to Jesus’ ordeal, a church which now stands in Gethsemane is known as the Church of the Agony (ibid).

church-of-the-agony1

The bare rock at Gethsemane

See also:

Medical Aspects of the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ

http://www.blueletterbible.org/commentaries/comm_view.cfm?AuthorID=3&contentID=3129&commInfo=8&topic=Crucifixion

Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence

http://www.4shared.com/file/76453282/5c78e394/Fernando_Ortega_-_Let_All_Mortal_Flesh_Keep_Silence.html

From MoooHamMad

Jesus of Nazareth (33 of 41)

See also:

https://rosettasister.wordpress.com/2009/03/14/pity/

40 Responses to “The hemohidrosis (or hematidrosis) of Christ”

  1. Troy Says:

    1st

  2. LadyTexan Says:

    Obama to Push Immigration Bill Despite the Risks

    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/04/09/us/politics/09immig.html?_r=1&hp

  3. Troy Says:

    Well, since I’m all alone here tonight I think I’ll just fool around a bit.

    Do we have any RUSH fans here?….I saw them live for the first time in Houston, Tx….I believe the year was 1976 or 1977….They had just recently released the RUSH 2112 album…..It was what is sometimes called a concept album….The author was inspired to write the lyrics to 2112 by the reading of Ayn Rand’s “Anthem”.

    Side A. was like one continuous song (20 mins) but was actually several songs that tell a story of a young man that lived in the future year of 2112….The world was a much different place then and society was much different as well….Mankind had seen it’s share of difficult times preceeding 2112 and was then in a stablized phase…. Society was carefully controlled by the wise priests so as not to repeat the mistakes of their past and once again face doom….The young man made an ancient discovery….It was an artifact from a previous culture that had long since parished…..He was very excited and took his new discovery to show the high priests and was sure that they would very impressed….They were not!!!….He was so distraught over the fact that he had been scorned by the priests and that they had destroyed his new miracle, that he lost his will to live….The lad had discovered music.

    The story goes like this:
    **********************************************************

    “I lie awake, staring out at the bleakness of Megadon. City and sky become one, merging into a single plane, a vast sea of unbroken grey. The Twin Moons, just two pale orbs as they trace their way across the steely sky. I used to think I had a pretty good life here, just plugging into my machine for the day, then watching Templevision or reading a Temple Paper in the evening.

    “My friend Jon always said it was nicer here than under the atmospheric domes of the Outer Planets. We have had peace since 2062, when the surviving planets were banded together under the Red Star of the Solar Federation. The less fortunate gave us a few new moons.
    I believed what I was told. I thought it was a good life, I thought I was happy. Then I found something that changed it all…”

    I. Overture
    **********
    And the meek shall inherit the earth…

    II. Temples of Syrinx
    ******************
    … “The massive grey walls of the Temples rise from the heart of every Federation city. I have always been awed by them, to think that every single facet of every life is regulated and directed from within! Our books, our music, our work and play are all looked after by the benevolent wisdom of the priests…”

    We’ve taken care of everything
    The words you hear, the songs you sing
    The pictures that give pleasure to your eyes.
    It’s one for all and all for one
    We work together, common sons
    Never need to wonder how or why.

    We are the Priests of the Temples of Syrinx
    Our great computers fill the hallowed halls.
    We are the Priests, of the Temples of Syrinx
    All the gifts of life are held within our walls.

    Look around at this world we’ve made
    Equality our stock in trade
    Come and join the Brotherhood of Man
    Oh, what a nice, contented world
    Let the banners be unfurled
    Hold the Red Star proudly high in hand.

    We are the Priests of the Temples of Syrinx
    Our great computers fill the hallowed halls.
    We are the Priests, of the Temples of Syrinx
    All the gifts of life are held within our walls.

    III. Discovery
    ************
    … “Behind my beloved waterfall, in the little room that was hidden beneath the cave, I found it. I brushed away the dust of the years, and picked it up, holding it reverently in my hands. I had no idea what it might be, but it was beautiful” …

    … “I learned to lay my fingers across the wires, and to turn the keys to make them sound differently. As I struck the wires with my other hand, I produced my first harmonious sounds, and soon my own music! How different it could be from the music of the Temples! I can’t wait to tell the priests about it! …”

    What can this strange device be?
    When I touch it, it gives forth a sound
    It’s got wires that vibrate and give music
    What can this thing be that I found?

    See how it sings like a sad heart
    And joyously screams out its pain
    Sounds that build high like a mountain
    Or notes that fall gently like rain.

    I can’t wait to share this new wonder
    The people will all see its light
    Let them all make their own music
    The Priests praise my name on this night.

    IV. Presentation
    **************
    … “In the sudden silence as I finished playing, I looked up to a circle of grim, expressionless faces. Father Brown rose to his feet, and his somnolent voice echoed throughout the silent Temple Hall.” …

    … “Instead of the grateful joy that I expected, they were words of quiet rejection! Instead of praise, sullen dismissal. I watched in shock and horror as Father Brown ground my precious instrument to splinters beneath his feet…”

    I know it’s most unusual
    To come before you so
    But I’ve found an ancient miracle
    I thought that you should know
    Listen to my music
    And hear what it can do
    There’s something here as strong as life
    I know that it will reach you.

    Yes, we know, it’s nothing new
    It’s just a waste of time
    We have no need for ancient ways
    Our world is doing fine
    Another toy will help destroy
    The elder race of man
    Forget about your silly whim
    It doesn’t fit the plan.

    I can’t believe you’re saying
    These things just can’t be true
    Our world could use this beauty
    Just think what we might do.
    Listen to my music
    And hear what it can do
    There’s something here as strong as life
    I know that it will reach you.

    Don’t annoy us further!
    We have our work to do.
    Just think about the average
    What use have they for you?
    Another toy will help destroy
    The elder race of man
    Forget about your silly whim
    It doesn’t fit the Plan!

    V. Oracle: The Dream
    *******************
    … “I guess it was a dream, but even now it all seems so vivid to me. Clearly yet I see the beckoning hand of the oracle as he stood at the summit of the staircase” …

    … “I see still the incredible beauty of the sculptured cities and the pure spirit of man revealed in the lives and works of this world. I was overwhelmed by both wonder and understanding as I saw a completely different way to life, a way that had been crushed by the Federation long ago. I saw now how meaningless life had become with the loss of all these things …”

    I wandered home though the silent streets
    And fell into a fitful sleep
    Escape to realms beyond the night
    Dream can’t you show me the light?

    I stand atop a spiral stair
    An oracle confronts me there
    He leads me on light years away
    Through astral nights, galactic days
    I see the works of gifted hands
    That grace this strange and wondrous land
    I see the hand of man arise
    With hungry mind and open eyes

    They left the planet long ago
    The elder race still learn and grow
    Their power grows with purpose strong
    To claim the home where they belong
    Home to tear the Temples down…
    Home to change!

    ( Continued )

  4. Troy Says:

    VI. Soliloquy
    ***********
    … “I have not left this cave for days now, it has become my last refuge in my total despair. I have only the music of the waterfall to comfort me now. I can no longer live under the control of the Federation, but there is no other place to go. My last hope is that with my death I may pass into the world of my dream, and know peace at last.”

    The sleep is still in my eyes
    The dream is still in my head
    I heave a sigh and sadly smile
    And lie a while in bed
    I wish that it might come to pass
    Not fade like all my dreams…

    Just think of what my life might be
    In a world like I have seen!
    I don’t think I can carry on
    Carry on this cold and empty life

    My spirits are low in the depths of despair
    My lifeblood…
    …spills over…

    VII. The Grand Finale
    ******************
    Attention all Planets of the Solar Federation
    Attention all Planets of the Solar Federation
    Attention all Planets of the Solar Federation
    We have assumed control.
    We have assumed control.
    We have assumed control.

  5. Tenacity Says:

    Or was it Friday?

  6. Troy Says:

    So, did ya’ll like the story? 🙂

  7. Tenacity Says:

    Or was it Wednesday? I believe Friday but there are equally valid arguments for one or the other…not likely Thursday. The text reads on the third day. In Hebrew, they count the first day as day one. Thus, if he was sacrificed on Friday (day one) then Sunday would have been the third day.

  8. Tenacity Says:

    What story?…Okay, it was a very cool story! Rose will be proud.

    Troy, I’m too dang consumed these days to stop and appreciate the details…the creation…the moments. My days fly by like a rush of wind. So busy surviving while trying to make a difference that every hour is like gold, but the minutes and seconds pass by like a sign on the freeway. Much like C S Lewis’s description of joy.

  9. Tenacity Says:

    The rush is making me long for being translated to a more spiritual existence when the exile is over and we will only be in the present.

  10. Tenacity Says:

    Okay, I know you are never alone at Rose’s place, but my burning eyes are making me impatient for rest. Sweet dreams Rose’s Gang.

  11. Troy Says:

    Tenacity Says:

    April 9, 2009 at 4:38 am
    The rush is making me long for being translated to a more spiritual existence when the exile is over and we will only be in the present.
    ********************************************************
    I found the 2112 story to be fitting when one looks at where we once were and where and what we have become….Whether or not you picked up on it, there is hope at the end of the story…..The elder race, thought to have parished, returned home to resume control….His dream came true.

  12. Fernley Girl Says:

    Troy,
    Have that album. Haven’t listened to it in quite a while, but will dust it off and play it tomorrow. Thanks for reminding me…….. (Music junkie. I have over 1500 albums, and don’t keep track of how many CD’s and MP3 files I have.)

  13. Troy Says:

    Ah, I’m glad you enjoyed the post. 😉

  14. Tenacity Says:

    Comment from TD Blog:

    alforhill50

    Hey, everyone. Here’s a funny you might enjoy.

    Three Californian surgeons were playing golf together and discussing surgeries they had performed. One of them said, “I’m the best surgeon in California . In my favorite case, a concert pianist lost sever fingers in an accident, I reattached them, and 8 months later he performed a private concert for the Queen of England .”

    The second surgeon said, “That’s nothing. A young man lost an arm and both legs in an accident, I reattached them and two years later he won a gold medal in track and field events at the Olympics.”

    The third surgeon said, “You guys are amateurs.. Several years ago a woman was high on cocaine and marijuana and she rode a horse head-on into a train traveling 80 miles an hour. All I had left to work with was the woman’s hair and the horse’s ass. I was able to put them together and now she’s Speaker of the House.”

  15. Troy Says:

    Hehehe….That’s a good one. 😀

  16. Fernley Girl Says:

    For you, Rose.

    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/comment/faith/article6040521.ece

    An interesting article about the Shroud of Turin via the Vatican.

  17. rosettasister Says:

    Fernley Girl Says:
    April 9, 2009 at 6:56 am

    For you, Rose.

    ——————————-

    Thank you very much, Girl!

    Below are some excerpts and I’ve added a couple more links.

    Rose

  18. rosettasister Says:

    Knights Templar hid the Shroud of Turin, says Vatican

    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/comment/faith/article6040521.ece

    Holy See property since 1983, the Shroud was last publicly exhibited in 2000, and is due to go on show again next year.

    The Vatican has not declared whether it is genuine or a forgery, leaving it to believers to decide. The late John Paul II said it was “an icon of the suffering of the innocent in every age.” The self proclaimed heirs of the Knights Templar have asked the Vatican to “restore the reputation” of the disgraced order and acknowledge that assets worth some £80 million were confiscated.

    The Association of the Sovereign Order of the Temple of Christ, based in Spain, said that when the order was dissolved by Pope Clement V in 1307, more than 9,000 properties, farms and commercial ventures belonging to knights were seized by the Church. A British branch also claiming descent from the Knights Templar and based in Hertfordshire has called for a papal apology for the persecution of the order.

    Friday the Thirteenth

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jacques_de_Molay

    King Philip IV of France, who coveted the order’s wealth and owed it money, arrested its leaders and put pressure on Pope Clement V to dissolve it.

    Several knights, including the Grand Master, Jacques de Molay, were burned at the stake.

    Some believe that the arrest of Jacques de Molay, Grand Master of the Knights Templar, and 60 of his senior knights on Friday, October 13, 1307 by King Philip IV of France is the origin of this superstition.

    That day thousands of Templars were arrested and subsequently tortured.

    They then ‘confessed’ and were executed.

    From that day on, Friday the 13th was considered by followers of the Templars as an evil and unlucky day.

    • International, Order of DeMolay, One of the youth fraternal organization sponsored by Freemasons

    http://www.demolay.org/

    DeMolay Chapter locator

    http://www.demolay.org/aboutdemolay/findachapter.php

  19. rosettasister Says:

    Gosh, you never know what you might find at Fox News!

    JAC might appreciate this link.

    How to Make Braided Easter Bread — Treat your loved ones to this pretty, not to mention tasty, traditional Easter bread

    http://www.foxnews.com/video-search/m/22069503/how-to-make-braided-easter-bread.htm

  20. rosettasister Says:

    Interesting that the Pope would qualify his remarks this way.

    Holy Week offers occasion to understand gift of salvation, says pope

    http://www.catholicnews.com/data/stories/cns/0901597.htm

    Pope Benedict XVI

    The Holy Thursday evening Mass of the Lord’s Supper recalls the institution of the Eucharist, which is “the supreme sign of Christ’s love for us” and is offered to all Catholics with no distinction made according to a person’s race or culture, he said.

  21. rosettasister Says:

    Vatican Live TV

    http://www.vatican.va/news_services/television/index-plugin_it.htm

    Quicktime worked for me.

  22. rosettasister Says:

    Say what?!

    Vatican plots battle with Dan Brown over Da Vinci Code sequel

    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/comment/faith/article5962971.ece

  23. rosettasister Says:

    I wish the timing on this had been different – but there it is.

    Tony Blair tells the Pope: you’re wrong on homosexuality

    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/comment/faith/article6055696.ece

    He also claimed that the mood was changing in evangelical circles, which have been long been anti-gay — the source of the dispute that has taken the worldwide Anglican Communion to the brink of schism.

    Referring to his contacts with evangelical groups in the US and elsewhere through the foundation, he said: “I think there is a generational shift that is happening. If you talk to the older generation, yes, you will still get a lot of pushback, and parts of the Bible quoted, and so on. But if you look at the younger generation of evangelicals, this is increasingly for them something that they wish to be out of — at least in terms of having their position confined to being anti-gay.”

  24. rosettasister Says:

    Holy Week

    http://www.kencollins.com/holy-05.htm

  25. rosettasister Says:

    HOLY THURSDAY is the most complex and profound of all religious observances, saving only the Easter Vigil.

    http://www.wf-f.org/HolyThurs.html

    Freeper Thread:

    http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/f-religion/1807274/posts

  26. rosettasister Says:

    Holy Thursday: The God who Washes Feet

    http://www.catholic.org/clife/lent/story.php?id=33089

  27. rosettasister Says:

    The significance of Holy Thursday

    http://www.catholicnewsagency.com/resource.php?n=1087

  28. Fernley Girl Says:

    OT
    Just saw an ad on Fox News touting the virtues of Cap and Trade. It was sponsored by the Alliance for Climate Protection. Info on the group here:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alliance_for_Climate_Protection

    This constant selling of twisted information to the public by government interests via TV advertising seems too “1984” for me. IF they’d tell the truth and say, “This ad was brought to you by the Obama administration so we can tax the hell out of you” I’d be OK with it. But to the uninformed the ad looks like Cap and Trade will save the planet AND the economy.
    I don’t know how much longer I can stand all the lies and attempts at manipulation.

  29. rosettasister Says:

    Hugh Hewitt talks about the news of the day, and discusses the Jon Meacham cover story in Newsweek about Christianity being dead in America with Dr. Albert Mohler of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.

    [audio src="http://ht.salemweb.net/townhall/audio/mp3/2b2a1ddb-c796-4512-8496-cd1b12e93f64.mp3" /]

  30. rosettasister Says:

    Great photos here!

    Mangaloreans observe Maundy Thursday

    http://mangalorean.com/news.php?newstype=broadcast&broadcastid=119913

  31. rosettasister Says:

    From FerdinandOSB

    April 09, 2009

    The Sisters of St. Benedict of Ferdinand, Indiana chant the beginning of the Book of Lamentations during their Holy Thursday Morning Prayer.

  32. rosettasister Says:

    Strong earthquake hits central Italy — SlideShow

    http://news.yahoo.com/nphotos/Strong-earthquake-hits-central-Italy/ss/events/wl/040609italyquake;_ylt=Am5sTHlx5XIWmF0tVv.764BpaP0E

  33. rosettasister Says:

    bbl, good people.

    rose

  34. inspirational1 Says:

    Imagine if you will ….
    The best what if ………… check this out from new Atlas reader Jim:

    Imagine if we woke up tomorrow with a president named Solomon Goldstein. A President, who for sure lived in and maybe was even born in Israel. A President, who as a boy went to a very conservative Jewish religious school in Israel. A President who as soon as he was elected calls the Israeli PM and promises that a peace the Jews can live with will soon be implemented. Then in his first interview as President he sits down with the Jewish Television Network and apologizes for Americans’ past arrogant behavior. Among other things our new President does first is lecture us that Zionism is a noble thing and has given the World many wonderful things and that we all MUST respect Zionism, even if we don’t agree with it. Then when our new President takes his first foreign trip, it is to Israel to address the Jewish nation. When first meeting the Israeli PM he bows to him. Then later in a press conference with the Israeli PM our new President proclaims that America is not a Christian nation and then while in Israel he spends time in several Synagogues and smiles when a Rabbi points out that his name is the same as one of Israel’s former kings. When our new President starts pushing for Israel to become a member of the UN Security Council will anyone complain?
    Replace Islam and Muslim with the above and Barack Hussein Obama has done all of the above.

    bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbingo!

    from Atlas Shrugs

  35. inspirational1 Says:

    Thought this was interesting from Atlas

    I have thought this for some time as I have called my husband and the phone doesn’t ring but I hear him, the phone is in his pocket and I hear his talking walking whatever at his work. I ask him later if the phone rang and he said no. There must be a monitoring system there. I saw it with my own ears.
    Interesting.

    Would you believe … your cell phone can be used to ease drop on you ? … Even when it is turned off?? I am really having a hard time with this one. It seems way beyond technical feasibility. But, on the other hand .. we know where this is all headed. Big Brother from 1984 has more than just a toe-hold on our government and society.

    Hard to believe.

    CELL PHONE (FBI can listen to you when phone is turned off)

    Easier to believe, but still troubling.

    Don’t Believe Your Cell Phone Can Be Monitored? Guess Again!

    Commercial GPS location. Perfectly legal, and commonly used.

    CELL PHONE SURVEILLANCE

    Some ways to protect yourself

    How to know if Your Cell Phone Is Bugged?

  36. inspirational1 Says:

    previous article from Defendourfreedoms.us

  37. ryansgrammy Says:

    This is really scary — don’t they know its not nice to mess with Mother Nature. There are lots of comments to the article which express the same deep concern I feel. Every day there is some new frightening information or proposal coming out of this idiotic administration!

    http://www.breitbart.com/article.php?id=D97ECHLG1&show_article=1

  38. Troy Says:

    ryansgrammy Says:

    April 9, 2009 at 6:13 pm
    This is really scary — don’t they know its not nice to mess with Mother Nature. There are lots of comments to the article which express the same deep concern I feel. Every day there is some new frightening information or proposal coming out of this idiotic administration!

    http://www.breitbart.com/article.php?id=D97ECHLG1&show_article=1
    *********************************************************
    Obama has now joined the ranks of the criminally insane….We first thought that his mental illness was limited to narcicistic personality disorder and now we know it is much much worse….Do they make straight jackets for worms?

  39. CJ Says:

    Troy if he oks this crap I don’t think there is any choice for the world but to demand he be removed /impeached. The whole planet will be at risk. He has hired lunatics and put them in charge of our lives. I am at a loss to figure out this nightmare we are living through.

  40. rosettasister Says:

    I’m a day ahead of myself, but that’s okay.

    I know it is officially Friday somewhere in the world.

    http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/

    New Thread:

    https://rosettasister.wordpress.com/2009/04/09/the-thirteenth-station/

Comments are closed.


