True Stories

by

true_stories

1967 – My well-to-do family up and moved us to N. Miami Beach, FL from Rocky Point, L.I., N.Y. I had just turned 10 years old.

That is actually how we had to address things back then. Like Long Island was some backwater somewhere. You know it was.

But Miami. Oh, Miami in 1967! I thought I had died and gone to heaven.

We just fit each other so well.

And I was in 5th grade and my parents enrolled me in Visitation Elementary. I was born on the Feast of the Visitation.

And I met Michael there, a lifelong friend.

Michael and I were boyfriend – girlfriend for five years, until we both finished junior high. That was in 1972.

But the interim was so nice. First we took the bus to the mall at 163rd Street and to Haulover Beach.

Then, as soon as was legal back then, Michael got his permit, and we rode his moped everywhere.

To the beach in the east and to where I boarded my horse in the west.

I was just at home in both places.

Running along the beach at full tilt with Portuguese Man-of-Wars washed up everywhere or on top of my horse.

There’s a time just before the tourists arrive. If you get to the beach early enough in the morning, with a mask and a pair of sneakers you can retrieve the most incredible shells pretty far out. And the looks of the people lying on the beach as you emerge – priceless!

Michael and I weren’t together anymore – just good friends forever.

So much so that when I finally did meet my husband-to-be, we actually lived with Michael and his love Marlene for a bit before we found our own little place in Coconut Grove.

So here’s where the True Story starts.

Bill (that’s my love) and I were in the South Florida area for just a few more days awaiting Michael and Marlene’s Wedding Day. It’s 1978 now.

So, of course, we had to go to the Disco.

And what better place to go than to the Copa in Fort Lauderdale.

So, I have to backtrack a little bit.

When I met my husband in 1976, he had a 1971 Dodge Charger. Gold with a black top. A beauty. And that’s the car we drove to the Copa that night. (Yes, the Copa was a gay club but that didn’t stop us.)

So, with everything we owned except for the clothes that were at the dry cleaners for the wedding crammed into the Charger we ascended into the Copa for the evening.

So, here’s where things get interesting.

After the revelry, Bill and I discovered that his beauteous Charger had been stolen with all of our worldly possessions.

And the cop-on-the-scene was none other than my cousin, another Michael.

Michael and his siblings and I and my siblings had grown up right next door to each other on a very long stretch of 25A in Rocky Point.

This was the first time he met my husband coming out of a gay club in Fort Lauderdale.

Needless to say, my cousin the Fort Lauderdale cop gave me a well-deserved tongue lashing.

And Bill and I were devastated. We had just lost our car and everything we owned.

So, now what.

Well, of course we attended Michael and Marlene’s Wedding. And I must say we looked dashing in the only possessions we had left which had been at the dry cleaners.

Now here’s where it gets really interesting.

Back in the day we had something called driveaway cars. That was for people who didn’t want to drive their cars back up north after the winter.

BTW, Bill and I were trying to get to Fredonia, NY to finish college even though it seemed at the time as if someone was out to get us.

So we got one of these driveaway cars.

Oh man, it was one of the most beautiful cars I’ve ever had the pleasure to drive.

This was 1978 and this was a top-of-the-line white Mercedes sedan on its way to upstate New York.

Are You Still in Richmond, Little Girl?!

So, Bill and I are making our way up north and I’m driving.

We’re on 95N in Richmond, VA and we spy this truck headed south. This large piece of pressed wood comes flying out of the back of the truck and the wind catches it.

And then everything starts going in slow motion.

We’re both watching as this piece starts doing somersaults in the sky and ever so slowly and then BAM!

Hits our windshield and then proceeds to take the seats off of our two ten-speeds mounted behind us.

I look over and Bill’s chest is bleeding from the broken glass.

To this day he can’t understand how I managed to maintain control.

So we end up having to stay the night in Richmond, which was very nice BTW.

But the following morning as I’m trying to make arrangements with the owner’s insurance company, the gentleman hears my voice which hasn’t changed to this day and says with a very thick southern accent, “Are you still in Richmond, little girl?!”

The Moral of the Story

You know what, there isn’t one! I wish I could say that was the only time I saw Death approaching from above. But that story is for another day.

Truth really is stranger than fiction, don’t you find it?!

I’d love to hear your true story.

sylvester3

Sylvester

Why should we care about this seemingly ephemeral entertainer?

Because of what he preached: “You are a star,” he sang. “Everybody is one. You are a star. You only happen once.”

http://www.4shared.com/file/92781224/7a3ce69e/Sylvester_-_Over_and_Over__special_12_disco_mix_.html

http://www.4shared.com/file/92781277/9e424361/Disco_Sylvester__You_Make_Me_Feel_Mighty_Real_Original.html

http://www.4shared.com/file/92781348/24126704/Sylvester_-_Dance__Disco_Heat___Original_12inch_Mix_.html

http://www.4shared.com/file/92781548/209f1bb6/04-Stars.html

http://www.4shared.com/file/92781662/f03a2e73/Sylvester_-_I_Who_Have_Nothing__12_INCH___DISCO___MIX_.html

98 Responses to “True Stories”

  1. Tenacity Says:

    1st

  2. Tenacity Says:

    I wish I could give my computer some MMS.

  3. KoolAid_Free_Lexi Says:

    “Ok – I can count higher than three, but I’ll stop there.

    JAC – in all seriousness, I want to thank you for the suggestion some days ago to include pet supplies in your stock pile. Honestly, I don’t think I would have thought of it.

    We’ve got a couple big pups, so just today I had 150 lbs. of food delivered for peace of mind. That ought to last us a couple weeks.

    Notice I said they are BIG dogs”
    —————————-
    Speaking of pets … I have a doggie door and it is always open. I have 3 cats and a big dog too and if something happens to us, I don’t want them to be trapped inside or outside either.

    Before the dog joined us, I had the doggie door slider “door” thing attacted to one end of a cord and the other end to a nail in the door and lowered to make the opening smaller so that larger animals couldn’t follow our cats in. But the dog is so big that I had to adjust the opening for him. Hopefully, he’ll be keeping any larger animals out from now on :c)

    Thought I might suggest a doggie door addition for other folks who have inside pets…. in the spirit of preparedness.

    BTW, habor freight tools has a very inexpensive audio/video camera, B/W, weather resistant, hooks right into the vcr/dvr and monitored from the tv. Not the greatest quality, but a person could be better alerted if the Gestapo were headed to their door and there was still power coming in the “home”.

    TY everyone for the ideas.

    JAC, can someone just go buy those meds in paper bags w/o a script?

  4. KoolAid_Free_Lexi Says:

    Have you used that stuff yet Ten?

  5. Troy Says:

    Tenacity Says:

    March 14, 2009 at 1:07 am
    I wish I could give my computer some MMS.
    **************************************
    Will MMS cure PMS?…..Pre Microsoft Syndrome

  6. KoolAid_Free_Lexi Says:

    Will MMS cure PMS?…..Pre Microsoft Syndrome
    **************************************

    Naaaw, I think only a dose a humility will cure that, Ten.

  7. KoolAid_Free_Lexi Says:

    Sorry, Troy

  8. Troy Says:

    KoolAid_Free_Lexi Says:

    March 14, 2009 at 1:50 am
    “Ok – I can count higher than three, but I’ll stop there.

    JAC – in all seriousness, I want to thank you for the suggestion some days ago to include pet supplies in your stock pile. Honestly, I don’t think I would have thought of it.

    We’ve got a couple big pups, so just today I had 150 lbs. of food delivered for peace of mind. That ought to last us a couple weeks.

    Notice I said they are BIG dogs”
    —————————-
    Speaking of pets … I have a doggie door and it is always open. I have 3 cats and a big dog too and if something happens to us, I don’t want them to be trapped inside or outside either.
    ***********************************************************
    Does he look anything like this?

    https://www.goofball.com/ditsei/INC20080207072951?comment_id=592331

  9. KoolAid_Free_Lexi Says:

    Whoa! That’s a dog? If she’s getting prepared, she should probably just take the whole door right off the hinges LOL! The good news is, I guess in a pinch, he could be fitted with a plow.

  10. Troy Says:

    KoolAid_Free_Lexi Says:

    March 14, 2009 at 2:09 am
    Whoa! That’s a dog? If she’s getting prepared, she should probably just take the whole door right off the hinges LOL! The good news is, I guess in a pinch, he could be fitted with a plow.
    *************************************
    Lmao….and a saddle 🙂

  11. KoolAid_Free_Lexi Says:

    LOL!! Ooh that’s funny! I have tears in my eyesLOL .. rose will probably have to moderated messages saying we’re a bunch of animal abusers next … blah blah blah ROTFLOL!

  12. KoolAid_Free_Lexi Says:

    Hey Honey … I bagged us a rabbit for supper …. and looky here, I gotta moose for Fido too

    Gosh, suddenly I’m so reminded of Sara Palin.

  13. Troy Says:

    and looky here, I gotta moose for Fido too
    ***********************************
    poor Bullwinkle!!!…Hehehe 😀

  14. KoolAid_Free_Lexi Says:

    poor Bullwinkle!!!…Hehehe

    ***********************************

    On a spit even LOL!

  15. KoolAid_Free_Lexi Says:

    Gee, I’m feelin’ kinda hungry. I’m thinkin it’s a little late over here on the e. coast for BBQ though.

  16. KoolAid_Free_Lexi Says:

    I think I’m just gonna head on to bed. But tomorrows supper plans are certainly in the works!

    Thanks for the laughs Troy. That really is good medicine. Night!

  17. patriotamy Says:

    Just stopping in for a minute. Proud Gramma moment.

    My newest Granddaughter was born today. Friday the 13th.. She was born at 13:13 !!

    Beautiful little princess —

  18. Troy Says:

    Congrats Amy!!!

  19. JAC Says:

    Amy

    Congrats on the little one…..

  20. j.b. Says:

    Cute stroy, Rose!

    Congrats, Amy! !3:13 on the 13th? Weird!

    And Troy, about this;

    Troy Says:

    March 13, 2009 at 8:18 pm
    There is a particular mention in this article that will get your attention.

    Part of me wants to say; “Holy Shit!” The other wants to say, “Well I hope BamBam din’t pay too much for that POS document, cuz it sure wadn’t dun too good”.

    I wonder if this will come of anything? Dear God in Heaven, pleeeeeeeeeeaaaaaase. Oh, and Thank You.

    So, Rose do you really want stories? Cuz I got a couple……… 🙂

    I watched the Glenn Beck Show tonight. I wish he wouldn’t cry so much. It doesn’t bother me personally. In fact it makes ME cry, but I just hate that it adds to the ammo pot used against him. I know-Who The Heck cares. But still. (he wishes he din’t cry so much, too)

    I will be checking out that new site he mentioned-project912.com, right?

  21. Troy Says:

    GatorGirl Says:

    March 13, 2009 at 11:38 pm
    Hello all—-
    Just dropping in to say GLENN BECK IS DA MAN!!!!!!!
    His “WE SURROUND THEM” show was great. (Foxnews 5:00pm with rebroadcast Sat. nite @9:00) http://www.the912project.com
    Check it out!

  22. JAC Says:

    sigh…. I missed it both times…..

  23. j.b. Says:

    JAC-the 2nd airing hasn’t happened yet! You got tomorrow, girl. 🙂

    Check this out…..just in case someone forgot.

    http://starmaker.today.com/2009/03/11/obamas-smackdown-of-gordon-brown/

    Oh and in spite of the crying, (which did not last long) I did enjoy the show and I love his concept. My husband, who is a complete introvert (whom I happen to love with all my heart) wants to find out where the “parties” took place in our “hood” so we can get with them. Oh and then we “argued” about who was going to approach the various well known liberals living on ALL SIDES OF US!

  24. Troy Says:

    Something is wrong with his new site…I guess the Obots already hacked it.

  25. JAC Says:

    I had tried the link to…….. Forbidden

  26. Troy Says:

    Oh and then we “argued” about who was going to approach the various well known liberals living on ALL SIDES OF US!
    **********************************************************
    Euwwww!!!!!!….Yuk!!!!!!…..Take a priest along so he can perform the exorcisms.

  27. JAC Says:

    http://www.therightsideoflife.com/?p=4599

    States with Sound Money bills……too kewl 😀

  28. JAC Says:

    too cool I will have to snag that video to embed into my site tomorrow

  29. j.b. Says:

    Euwwww!!!!!!….Yuk!!!!!!…..Take a priest along so he can perform the exorcisms.

    *(=******************888\

    I Knooooooooooow! Not goin’ there, yet.

  30. j.b. Says:

    Glenn said the site crashed about a half an hour after he mentioned it (during the show)! I figured it would be fixed by now. wow.

  31. JAC Says:

    hey j.b.

  32. j.b. Says:

    Anyone here listen to Phil Hendrie?

  33. j.b. Says:

    hey, jac. Did you see that the Beck program will re-air tomorrow (Saturday) night at 9:00?

  34. JAC Says:

    I might be able to catch it tomorrow night…..
    between my webpage… my Voice of Indiana Organization and committed to participating in the Ham Fest tomorrow………I have been chasing my own tail for a few days now…

  35. Troy Says:

    Jac, how have you been feeling lately?…..Are the aches getting any better?

  36. j.b. Says:

    Ham Fest? Mmmmm, now I’m hungry! Your site looks good. I can tell you put much time and effort into it.

  37. JAC Says:

    I made three huges batches of turtle topped chocolate hazelnut brownies today… as well as make 10 dozen peanut butter cookies

    I also spent 2 hours this evening tagging and putting items on the table to sale…..

  38. j.b. Says:

    And Troy shows us his softer side. Awwwwww, 🙂

  39. JAC Says:

    lol wrong kind of Ham….. Ham Radio,.. it’s a club thing, once a year.

    thanks on the website…… still need to work on somethings…. like the mission statement… I borrowed it…. but it too stiff and doesn’t really respresent what we really are trying to do……. I also still need to put in the forum…..

  40. JAC Says:

    Troy
    good days and bad days…… the iron helped a lot…… no blood transfusions…. tonight I hurt….. thank God for pain pills….. though I still split them in half…. I want just enough to not hurt….. and I only take that half at night

  41. j.b. Says:

    Well your next post was about food, right? Turtles on a brownie? wow. Death by Sugar! The only way to go.

    Hey, can I get that MMS stuff at a health food store or do I gotta order it online?

  42. JAC Says:

    it’s odd…. I can be perfectly fine… not a single ache …. then it will hit me where everything does….I have been in a few really bad car accidents in the past…..let me tell you I can do serious damage to a brick house 😀 ….. it was a mechanical error…… (shhhh my father worked on my car and it almost killed me)

  43. JAC Says:

    j.b.
    thick chocolate fudge icing swirled with carmal and pecans…

  44. JAC Says:

    I still need to check that out… my nurse friend said I can get it at the local health food store….. I will check there first….

  45. j.b. Says:

    Oh, I just loved it when Glenn said that he pretty much does NOT TRUST ANYONE, EXCEPT THE MILITARY!

    K-g’night~

  46. j.b. Says:

    okay, I was going to check there too, (tomorrow) I’ll let you know.

  47. JAC Says:

    night j.b.

  48. rosettasister Says:

    Yes, I really want stories!

  49. JAC Says:

    Rose,…… sneeking in on us at night….. lol

  50. rosettasister Says:

    Just got home and drank too much wine.

    I love reading people’s stories, so if anyone wants to share.

    Going to look above.

  51. rosettasister Says:

    Why was Glenn Beck crying?!

    Cause you know that really turns me on!

  52. JAC Says:

    Rose,
    Sorry,……. I missed the show…. I have to catch it when it is on again tomorrow night

  53. JAC Says:

    not a story… but one of my poems…

    Dream Catcher

    Whispering breezes
    Blowing my magic web
    Catcher of dreams
    While tucked in my bed

    Weaves of fancy
    Of strength, of love
    Protector of delights
    Like the soft caress of a dove

    Nightmares, no more
    Torment my blissful slumber
    Only the sweetest of visions
    Embark the oasis of, this fumbler

    The light of the moon
    The cry of one wolf to another
    Serenity of time and choices
    My love for you, and no other

    The glittering of stars
    The feeling of peaceful home
    My dreams are of you, sweet darling
    Only together in this place do we roam

    By Cindy S

  54. rosettasister Says:

    okay, Cindy, good night.

    Try to get some sleep.

    I’m on Pacific time now.

  55. rosettasister Says:

    Nice, Cindy.

    A good lullaby for me.

  56. JAC Says:

    Eastern….. after 2:30 here and I have to get up at 6:30
    geeeez I’m going to feel like heck tomorrow

  57. JAC Says:

    well I’m off to see the sandman…..
    night

  58. KoolAid_Free_Lexi Says:

    A little late, but congrats Amy!

  59. jrinNC Says:

    For all those who have missed Glenn Beck’s shows – here is a run down on them:

    http://www.foxnews.com/video2/video08.html?maven_referralObject=3812488&maven_referralPlaylistId=&sRevUrl=http://www.foxnews.com/glennbeck/

  60. rosettasister Says:

    Good Saturday Morning/Afternoon!

    Financial Markets Show Limits of Obama’s Power

    http://www.usnews.com/blogs/capital-commerce/2009/3/13/-markets-show-limits-of-obamas-power.html

    … this week here in Washington where

    a) factions within Congress are pushing hard for a modification in mark-to-market accounting rules;

    b) Treasury Secretary Geithner seemed to hedge on the idea of raising taxes, and

    c) President Obama tried to adopt a more upbeat tone, even hinting at cutting corporate taxes.

    Politicians here, I would argue, seems to be waking up to the reality that markets may not sign off on massive increases in our national debt.

    As the Chinese Premier Wen said earlier today: “Of course we are concerned about the safety of our assets. To be honest, I’m a little bit worried … I would like to call on the United States to honor its words, stay a credible nation and ensure the safety of Chinese assets.”

    Indeed, financial insurance contracts that reflect the odds of a U.S. debt default have gone through the roof since September.

    Perhaps Washington is finally listening to the message Wall Street is sending.

  61. rosettasister Says:

    Haven’t listened yet but Hugh Hewitt’s interviews typically very instructive.

    Listen here:

    Hugh talks politics with Fred Barnes of the Weekly Standard, economics with First Trust Portfolio’s Brian Wesbury, and the Chas Freeman/Glenn Greenwald controversy with Center For Security Policy president Frank Gaffney.

    [audio src="http://ht.salemweb.net/townhall/audio/mp3/b4031fce-d65f-4eb2-905f-527dd58350b8.mp3" /]

  62. Troy Says:

    Orly is kicking ass and taking names.

    http://defendourfreedoms.us/

  63. ryansgrammy Says:

    Greetings to Rose’s Gang– you may be interested in checking out the updates, particularly about the California Sec of State who isn’t responsible for the constitutional eligibility of any presidential candidate on the ballot in CA, on theobamafile.com website. It appears that the Library of Congress has selected TheObamaFile.com for inclusion in its official records–bet that doesn’t sit too well with “the man”.

  64. jrh Says:

    Troy, that was interesting that Orly got to ask Roberts a question directly, especially just following her question to Scalia. I get the impression that they don’t know about this issue. How in the world could they not? Is it possible that the clerks are screening out this stuff as she indicates? Something just doesn’t add up here, or maybe Roberts was just sloughing her off by saying he’d review the docs. Very curious.

  65. rosettasister Says:

    Troy Says:
    March 14, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Thanks, Troy!

    “I Did It. Justice Roberts Agreed to read all of my documents”

    http://defendourfreedoms.us/2009/03/14/i-did-it.aspx

    EXCERPT

    ” My name is Orly Taitz, I am an attorney from Southern California.

    I left home at three o’clock in the morning and flew and drove thousands of miles to talk to you and ask you a question”.

    Roberts seemed to be impressed by that and I continued.

    “Are you aware that there is criminal activity going on in the Supreme Court of the United States.

    I have submitted my case Lightfoot v Bowen to you. You agreed to hear it in the conference of all 9 Justices on January 23.

    Your clerk, Danny Bickle, on his own accord refused to forward to you an important supplemental brief, he has hidden it from you and refused to post it on the docket.

  66. rosettasister Says:

    ryansgrammy Says:
    March 14, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    Thanks!

    Here’s that link:

    http://theobamafile.com/ObamaLatest.htm

    A California court has ruled that apparently anyone can run for president on the California ballot — whether or not they are eligible under the Constitution of the United States.

    “Secretary of State Debra Bowen contends that there is no basis for mandamus relief because the Secretary of State has no ‘ministerial duty’ to demand detailed proof of citizenship from presidential candidates,” said Judge Michael P. Kenny.

    “The court finds this argument persuasive.”

  67. carribeansoul Says:

    guys and dolls…I just watched the Glenn Beck special from yesterday (I DVR’d it). The man brought tears to my eyes! My friends think I’m crazy….telling me to stay off the computer and turn off my TV. I, on the other hand, want to make a difference. As I told my sister a few months ago, in a Patrick Henry type of way, not a skin-head type of way. I believe this 912 project of his is going to be how I (we) do it. I am going to send the video above to all and hope I can change some of their minds and ways of thinking. How interesting that just a couple of weeks ago I was talking with a girlfriend and said his exact words that we have gotten in this position by losing our values and principles. He has hit home with me. I have always been a right is right and wrong is wrong kind of person (my family making fun of me for it and telling me that this wasn’t necessarily true, that there are gray areas) that it is so refreshing to have someone tell me that it’s okay to think that way!

    As for Orly….she will be the one that makes the difference, not Phil Berg, in my most humble opinion. She is following these justices around! She has kahoonas! To just sit and wait and keep filing papers is not going to get it done I don’t believe. It’s already been proven that the justice system is broken. God bless Phil for his hard work and all, but I believe he needs to be a lot more proactive. It’s pretty evident that the patience is running out over there…a bunch of infighting which is too bad. Everyone one of our hearts are in the right place….can’t we just team up and get ‘er done!! 🙂 They are too jealous (I guess is the word!) of Orly or something…I don’t know.

    So, just thought I would lay out my thoughts here on the 912 project. I think with him having the national exposure that needs to be, we can make things happen! (gosh, and I wasn’t even a cheerleader in high-school!!)

  68. Troy Says:

    jrh Says:

    March 14, 2009 at 5:35 pm
    Troy, that was interesting that Orly got to ask Roberts a question directly, especially just following her question to Scalia. I get the impression that they don’t know about this issue. How in the world could they not? Is it possible that the clerks are screening out this stuff as she indicates? Something just doesn’t add up here, or maybe Roberts was just sloughing her off by saying he’d review the docs. Very curious.
    *********************************************************
    Both are distinct possibilities and one or the other or both could be true.

  69. rosettasister Says:

    John Boehner “paints” Mr. Obama as to the left of Europe

    • MARCH 13, 2009

    European Leaders Push Back on Obama’s Calls for Aid

    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB123689700452612473.html

    In Berlin Thursday, with German Chancellor Angela Merkel at his side, French President Nicolas Sarkozy explicitly rejected Mr. Obama’s push for more global fiscal stimulus, declaring, “the problem is not about spending more, but putting in place a system of regulation so that the economic and financial catastrophe that the world is seeing does not reproduce itself.”

    Meanwhile, a U.S. official responded Thursday with pique to a British decision to initiate a direct dialogue with the political arm of Hezbollah, the Lebanese militia and political party, which the U.S. lists as a terrorist organization. Surprise splits on foreign policy between the U.S. and U.K. are rare. The U.S. official said he wants the British to explain “the difference between the political, military and social wings of Hezbollah, because we don’t see a difference.”

    The divisions underscore that even when presidents change, some national interests don’t. For continental Europe, focusing on underregulation helps deflect blame for the crisis to the more lightly governed financial markets of the U.S. and U.K. The American push for more stimulus, in turn, shifts the blame to Europe for being too slow to respond to the ongoing economic slump.

    Republicans in Congress are brandishing Mr. Sarkozy’s speech and others to paint Mr. Obama as to the left of Europe. “Economists, even Europeans, skeptical of Administration’s economic recovery plans,” blared an email headline from House Minority Leader John Boehner (R., Ohio).

  70. rosettasister Says:

    Glenn Beck fires back at his far-left critics

  71. Katie Says:

    Don’t look now – it’s 1984.

    http://citizenwells.wordpress.com/

  72. rosettasister Says:

    Karl Rove

    Obama administration to discontinue the title ‘enemy combatants’

  73. rosettasister Says:

    Dear Citizen!

    http://citizenwells.wordpress.com/2009/03/14/obama-official-placed-on-leave-birth-certificate-controversy-washington-post-article-march-14-2009-1984-george-orwell-big-brother-internet-scrubbing-revisionist-history-vivek-kundra-white-h/

    http://mobile.washingtonpost.com/news.jsp?key=361994&rc=dc_me

    Did someone forget to scrub the mobile version or was the
    main concern the Citizen Wells reference?

    I’m having a little trouble following exactly what happened.

  74. rosettasister Says:

    LAUGH OUT LOUD FUNNY – OBAMA CHRIS MATTHEWS CARTOON

    http://hillarynme.wordpress.com/2009/03/03/laugh-out-loud-funny-obama-chris-matthews-cartoon/

  75. rosettasister Says:

    Gosh, I don’t recall this!

    Added: November 24, 2008

    Question about Obama’s birth certificate avoided

  76. JAC Says:

    lurking…… working on my forum…. 🙂

  77. rosettasister Says:

    Bill and I had dinner last night with a gentleman who used to run Revlon. Very much a conservative, very concerned about the economy as we all are. And I flat out asked him if he knew what kind of deficits we’re running for FY 2009. He knew they were bad but he didn’t know (13.5%). Then I asked him if he knew the only other time we ran deficits like this. Again, he didn’t know (WWII).

    I’m telling you almost no one understands the sheer magnitude of debt we’re incurring.

    No new taxes and no new debt should be our motto. And no unnecessary spending.

    Anyway at least this reporter asked some good questions. Not asking the right questions, though.

    Posted on Fri, Mar. 13, 2009

    Q&A: Obama’s economics guru defends deficit spending

    http://www.mcclatchydc.com/329/story/63969.html

    Lawrence Summers, President Barack Obama’s closest economic adviser, broke a long public silence on Friday, asserting that today’s economic problems stem from an unsustainable financial model, and he defended heavy deficit spending as a necessary evil to restore the economy to health.

    Q: Chinese Prime Minister Wen Jiabao worried on Friday that America may not make good on the $1 trillion in debt it owes China. Does America’s stimulus spending risk a debt default?

    A: In the short run, the need is to get the economy going again and to get the private financial system working again and to reactivate those markets. And . . . it’s not something that will happen automatically simply through patience. You have to be prepared to prime the pump, and if you allow the process of decay, decline and deleveraging to continue, it’s much more costly to do it later. The ultimate burdens are . . . much greater and the loss of confidence and ability to attract foreign capital is that much more profound.

    Q: Still, our debt is exploding. Won’t this have long-term consequences?

    A: Look, I think we need to do what’s necessary to get us out of the crisis that we inherited. My speech was intended to persuade you of one thing if you didn’t agree with anything else — that this was not a set of automatic processes that will automatically fix themselves if you didn’t act. If deflation sets in, if the (gross domestic product) collapses further . . . the magnitude of the federal borrowing, as large as it is today, will be dwarfed; will be far larger. So I believe the approach the president is taking is the ultimately fiscal responsible approach, because of the risk it avoids and it contains.

    Q: So it’s not a problem?

    A: One of the real dangers that is inherent in a moment like this is that there are certainly plenty of examples in history that the crisis spending, or crisis increases in deficits, will continue after the crisis. And that would be very risky.

  78. Troy Says:

    Does anyone else here enjoy 40’s style swing?

    Big Bad Voodoo Daddy

  79. rosettasister Says:

    Big Bad Voodoo Daddy!

    I’ll have to check them out.

    Lord knows I listen to everything else!

  80. rosettasister Says:

    Polarik

    http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/news/2206017/posts?page=103#103

    To: yefragetuwrabrumuy; LucyT; Iowan; Calpernia; Candor7; BP2; et al

    The purpose of the Supreme Court with respect to the Costitution is to make judicial decisions based on the intent of its Framers and on similar decisions and precidents set forth by SCOTUS in past cases.

    THEN, the Laws are established and Rules are written as to how to enforce them.

    SCOTUS shirked its responsibility, and basically chickened out when it was needed the most. They were not appointed to make only easy decisions, or ones that are simply redundant of lower court rulings. They are there to make the tough calls, like Brown v. Board of Education, Engel v. Vitale, and Roe v. Wade.

    So, I don’t buy this argument that Federal laws have to be passed first before the meaning of Article II can be determined in the case of We the People v. Barack H. Obama.

    Which came first? Laws against using extracted or involuntary confessions or SCOTUS decisions involving the 5th Amendment, such as Brown v. Mississippi, Chambers v. Florida, Ashcraft v. Tennessee, Haynes v. Washington, and, of course, Miranda v. Arizona.

    Why is it that the language of the Constitution with regards to the qualifications of Presidential Candidates never required any Federal election laws to be passed before it was put into play to decide controversial elections?

    The Presidential elections of 1800 and 1824 were decided on the basis of Article II of the Constitution and not pre-existing Federal law. Why would it not be equally valid to let the language of Article II on the NBC clause apply to the election of 2008?

    All previous attempts to change the “natural born citizen” requirement to include “naturalized” citizens have failed, and the Supreme Court was not even called upon to render a decision.

    The request for a Presidential candidate to provide proof of his Constitutional eligibility is not the least bit unreasonable. As to who should do it now, if not the Supreme Court, why wouldn’t one or both houses of Congress be enjoined to request this proof of an elected President? Each State’s Secretary of Elections could have made it a requirement, and should have made it a requirement, for all twenty-three (23) Presidential candidates on the ballot to prove their eligibility.

    It is increasingly clear that what is at stake is that a Presidential candidate who has refused to prove that he is even a naturalized US citizen, let alone a natural-born one.

    There are two extraordinary cases concerning the Supreme Court’s involvement in two FOIA cases in 1991 that are relevant to the today’s situation.

    Freedom of Information Act lawsuits are exceptional in that a defendant agency loses its right to appeal an adverse order, and the case becomes entirely moot, unless a court “stays” that disclosure order pending the outcome of the agency’s appeal. In each of the two cases raised before the Supreme Court in the Summer of 1991, a stay pending appeal had been denied at both the district and appellate court levels, necessitating the Supreme Court’s intervention.

    On March 29, 1991, Judge Marilyn Hall Patel ruled that the FBI’s investigation of student political groups in the 1960’s ceased to have a legitimate law enforcement purpose as of a certain date in 1965, thereby precluding any Exemption 7 protection for all individuals and confidential sources appearing in such FBI records generated after that date.

    Judge Patel ordered the FBI to “reprocess” many of the requested files in a way that would disclose much sensitive information — including information pertaining to exceptionally sensitive national security sources. See Rosenfeld v. Department of Justice, 761 F. Supp. 1440 (N.D. Cal. 1991). At the same time, Judge Patel flatly refused to issue a stay of her disclosure order pending its appeal through the ordinary appellate process.

    The FBI therefore sought an emergency stay from the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals but that court surprisingly declined even to consider issuing a stay, due to a procedural technicality which it thought left it without jurisdiction to grant such relief at that juncture. See Rosenfeld v. Department of Justice, No. 91-15854 (9th Cir. June 12, 1991).

    So the Solicitor General had to file an emergency stay application with the Supreme Court, as a last resort before disclosure would be required. That application was considered first by Associate Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, as Circuit Justice for the Ninth Circuit, who took the unusual step of referring the matter for consideration by the full Supreme Court. Also unusual was that the Solicitor General submitted a classified affidavit directly to the Supreme Courtin support of the stay application.

    On June 24, after a great deal of procedural activity, the Supreme Court granted the stay application unanimously. See Department of Justice v. Rosenfeld, 111 S. Ct. 2846 (1991). Most significantly, the Court chose not merely to grant a temporary stay until such time as the Ninth Circuit’s perceived jurisdictional problem could be resolved. Rather, it took the extraordinary further step of granting a full stay of disclosure pending final disposition of all appeals, effectively bypassing the court of appeals on that critical procedural issue.

    There was none of this bullsh*t “standing” business back then.

    103 posted on Friday, March 13, 2009 8:00:46 PM by Polarik

  81. Troy Says:

    rosettasister Says:

    March 14, 2009 at 8:14 pm
    Big Bad Voodoo Daddy!

    I’ll have to check them out.

    Lord knows I listen to everything else!
    *********************************************
    This would be a good place to check them out.

    http://www.truveo.com/Big-Bad-Voodoo-Daddy-Big-Bad-Voodoo-Daddy/id/107600384

  82. rosettasister Says:

    Thanks, Troy!

    I’ll do just that.

  83. rosettasister Says:

    Deep split over an economic fix

    http://www.theworldlink.com/articles/2009/03/14/news/doc49bb0f27a674f797241836.txt

    As world leaders quarrel over the answer, the decline is getting worse. The World Bank has forecast trade to fall to its lowest point in 80 years this year.

    And new figures Friday showed the U.S. trade deficit plunged in January to the lowest level in six years as the deepening recession cut demand for imported goods at an even faster rate than for exports.

    World Bank President Robert Zoellick said he was afraid that fiscal stimulus programs, unaccompanied by a plan to cleanse banks of the troubled assets weighing down their balance sheets, would only add to the economic headache.

    “Turnaround can’t happen unless you clean up the bad assets and recapitalize the banks,” he said. “If you don’t take on the banking issue, the stimulus is just like a sugar high. It pushes some energy through the system, but then you get the letdown unless you reopen the credit markets.”

    —————-

    Now that I’ve thoroughly depressed myself … hopefully BBVDaddies will cheer me up!

    bbl

  84. Troy Says:

    Now that I’ve thoroughly depressed myself … hopefully BBVDaddies will cheer me up!

    bbl
    *************************
    Lmao…They will 😀

  85. j.b. Says:

    Katie Says:

    March 14, 2009 at 7:15 pm
    Don’t look now – it’s 1984.

    http://citizenwells.wordpress.com/

    That is interesting to me as I went to copy and paste the original article to send in an e-mail and when I looked it over, it was “different”. Then I went back to CW to re-read the one he had posted to try and figure out what I must have done wrong. So, now i find it wasn’t ME at all.
    *shaking head*

    I said today, “Maybe with the shit hitting the fan so much, every day, from so many directions, Barry will just get fed up and say; You’re right, I AM NOT ELIGIBLE. I QUIT.”

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    *sigh*

    A girl can dream, can’t she?

  86. j.b. Says:

    My hubby and I went through our Big VooDoo Daddy days, when they first got “popular”. Oh and Squirrel Nut Zippers(?), too.
    IIRC. Good stuff.

  87. Troy Says:

    I saw BBVD in a nightclub…They were awsome.

  88. j.b. Says:

    Great news about Orly. She is one of My Hero’s. What compassion, drive and total LOVE OF HER COUNTRY!

    CBeanSoul, I totally agree with your earlier post. 🙂

  89. Troy Says:

    I left a nice comment for Orly at her site…I told her she was “Wonder Woman”

  90. j.b. Says:

    OMGOSH! I just went back to Orly’s site and finished reading the latest post as I had not realized I hadn’t.

    Holy Sh!T! I LOVE this from part 4.;

    t showed screen shots of information being erased from the docket of the Supreme Court, it contained information of court cases being created, fabricated in order to commit voter fraud and sway public opinion, it contained a list of a 100 addresses for Barack Obama with numerous different social security numbers, issued all over the country and attached to those addresses. It showed the address Obama used in Somerville Massachusetts, attached to the social security of a man who is 118 years old. It showed evidence of Obama committing perjury, lying under oath. It had his school registration from Indonesia under the name Barry Soetoro, citizen of Indonesia, religion Muslim. Right after this page there was a page of Obama’s registration to become an attorney and officer of the court in Illinois, where he stated under oath that his name is Barack Hussein Obama and he had no other prior names. It contained a report from a federal agent Steven Coffman, stating that there are numerous signs of forgery in his Selective Service Certificate. It contained a letter from a renown expert Sandra Line, stating that there are signs of forgery in Obama’s short version Certification of Live Birth, and original birth certificate needs to be reviewed in order to ascertain his status. It contained 130 current job positions for Barry Obama, Barack H. Obama and Michelle Obama, that were obtained from Intellius Jobs.com. None of them were reported on Obamas’ tax returns

  91. j.b. Says:

    http://larrysinclair-0926.blogspot.com/

    lol @ Larry!

  92. Troy Says:

    She has also sent all that info to FBI, AH, Holder and others….That info, except for possible wrong doing by SC clerk Danny Bickel, won’t be of any interest to SC Justice Roberts.

  93. Troy Says:

    j.b. Says:

    March 14, 2009 at 9:45 pm
    http://larrysinclair-0926.blogspot.com/

    lol @ Larry!
    ************************************
    Hehehe…Now that is some funny chit!!!! 😀

  94. j.b. Says:

    Troy Says:

    March 14, 2009 at 9:46 pm
    She has also sent all that info to FBI, AH, Holder and others….That info, except for possible wrong doing by SC clerk Danny Bickel, won’t be of any interest to SC Justice Roberts.

    Maybe not, but he surely will be able to detect a “theme” (if he reads HALF of the stuff she sent and how could he not be at least curious?) and then perhaps have an “aha” moment or sumpthin’.
    I dunno, but IT SURE GIVES THIS CRACKER SOME MUTHAphuckin’ HOPE! And that’s some CHANGE I need!

    🙂

  95. JAC Says:

    Hey I found a kindred spirit. He only lives 3 streets from me…. Him and his wife both almost totally think the same things I do 🙂

    what was really cool today I was also talking to Mike at the Ham Fest… he is a black man… one of the nicest guys you would want to meet…
    You should of heard him ripping into Bammy, Said that (N word) didn’t belong in office, his politics stink and so do his friends. He said that man is going to do nothing but reverse everything good that has happen between blacks and whites.
    He said I can live where I want to, go anywhere I want to, and as long as I treat people right, they treat me the same way back… People is people.

    I had to give him a hug

  96. j.b. Says:

    That’s cool, JAC. Please give him a sincere fist bump from this here Cracker. 🙂

  97. rosettasister Says:

    Have yourself a good cry.

    New Thread:

    https://rosettasister.wordpress.com/2009/03/14/pity/

  98. Proof Positive: A Good Story Can Be Telling | FunnyThing Says:

    […] True Stories « Rosettasister’s Weblog […]

Comments are closed.


