Cupiō

by

cupio

Cupid

Latin Cupīdō, from cupido desire, desire of love, from cupidus.

present active cupiō, present infinitive cupere, perfect active cupīvī, supine cupītum.

  1. I desire, long for

bacch

Bacchus als Kind – “panta rhei”

(Guido Reni, 1623) Ovid, Met. III, 317

Favorite Love Songs:

für Helmut

Today I feel like pleasing you more than before
Today I know what I want to do but I don’t know what for
To be living for you is all I want to do
To be loving you it’ll all be there when my dreams come true
Today you’ll make me say that I somehow have changed
Today you’ll look into my eyes, I’m just not the same
To be anymore than all I am would be a lie
I’m so full of love I could burst apart and start to cry
Today everything you want, I swear it all will come true
Today I realize how much I’m in love with you
With you standing here I could tell the world what it means to love
To go on from here I can’t use words, they don’t say enough
Please, please listen to me
It’s taken so long to come true
And it’s all for you
all for you….

http://www.4shared.com/file/87689978/92d26562/Jefferson_Airplane_-_Today.html

Please let us know your favorite love song. And, if you wish, leave a dedication.

And if you find yourself alone this Valentine’s Day, you’re not the only one.

Maybe your special someone is on the other side, and watching every move you make.

Leave a link, if you can. If not, just the title and artist, if possible. Some lyrics would be nice.

Happy Valentine’s Day! You are loved.

Joe Tex – I Gotcha

http://www.4shared.com/file/81856015/4cc1057b/Joe_Tex_-_I_Gotcha.html

80 Responses to “Cupiō”

  1. Troy Says:

    1st

  2. Troy Says:

    Troy Says:

    February 14, 2009 at 9:31 pm
    They didn’t even list the camp that I used to live right down the road from in Taylor, Texas….Here is a video of it.

  3. rosettasister Says:

    Troy, I know you love music!

    What’s your favorite love song?

    Rose

  4. Troy Says:

    Happy Valentines Day, Rose

  5. Troy Says:

    How’s that one?

  6. JAC Says:

    Rose

    favorite love song….. hmmmmmm

    My heart will go on …..by Celine Dion
    When we make love …..by Alabama

  7. rosettasister Says:

    Oh, fantastic!

    Thanks, Troy!

  8. Troy Says:

    You’re welcome!!!

  9. Troy Says:

    I like this one also…I think you will too

  10. rosettasister Says:

    Oh, I’m loving this!

    Alabama – When We Make Love

  11. rosettasister Says:

    Queen – You’re My Best Friend

    I love this one, too!

  12. CJ Says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day to all. Thanks Rose for this thread. A welcome respite to all the ugly things going on. Couple of my favorites and they are sappy but who cares:
    From Phantom of the Opera: “Think of Me” and “All I Ask Of You”
    and showing my age: Righteous Brothers: “Unchained Melody”.

    Just wanted to post a quote that I ran across today. It isn’t about the goodness of love and Valentine’s Day but is a sober reminder of what we may be dealing with.

    “During times of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a revolutionary act.” George Orwell.

    Keep telling the truth fellow patriots. We will win.

  13. rosettasister Says:

    I know Tenacity has a favorite love song, too!

    He’s lurking around here somewhere.

  14. rosettasister Says:

    Righteous Brothers – Unchained Melody

  15. Tenacity Says:

    Zen et al,
    I’ve been talking to a few bright people that have been beating their heads against a wall trying to unify those loyal to the Constitution and the Republic. The problem is the same as why there are so many different denominations of evangelical Christian churches…egos, stubborness, and pride about how to do church. They all believe in Jesus, but they can’t agree about how to do church. The only way to get the majority to agree on what group to join or what name to use is to have someone try to ram something down their throat and then they will unite to fight them. I learned this by dealing with people in the mountains (Rockies). If you watched the early episodes of South Park, it hinted to this mentality. There seems to be some cooperation forming between We The People Foundation/Congress, Resist Net, Restore The Constitution, Grass Fire and Committees of Safety. At least I am hearing that members of each are starting to support the actions/plans of the others. In Colorado at least, we (WTPC) are talking about inviting these other groups to participate in the Continental Congress in June or July. Resist net is talking about supporting RTC’s May 30th march and inviting everyone else to participate in a protest they have planned in September. I’m with Orly Taitz in that September is too far off and they need to do something much sooner.

    The various parties that exist now are apparently not capable of merging: Libertarians, Constitution Party, Independent Party, Conservative Republicans, and the Conservative Party. Too much animosity between the various leaderships. Thus, it seems there are 2 possibilities and the odds are not great for either of them. 1) Kick the stinking Rockefellerites out of the Republican Party. These are the RINOs like Specter, Snowe, Collins, Bush Sr., W, McCain and others that have not held true to fiscally conservative principles. 2) Form a whole new party based upon restoring & preserving the Constitution and our Republic. The first option is an action by conservatives and will be difficult because a lot of the money behind the Rep Party is controlled by so-called moderates that are actually a part of the NWO crowd (named above) that have played and used the Rep Party much like S/Ob (Soros & etc.) has played and used the Dhim Party. In fact, the 2 factions are joined at the hip. Thus, it seems the only real solution is to form a new party (option 2). This move is basically proselytizing the list of parties above plus trying to pull in the Reagan Democrats…PUMAs & etc. In order to successfully do that, we can’t take a partisan approach at all. It requires a different dialogue and philosophy than left v. right or liberal v. conservative. It means talking about preserving the rights of the citizens, state’s rights, liberty, and freedom from tyranny. It means convincing a significant group of people that the federal government is now tyrannical and must be reformed or abolished and remade to something like we had before 1907 or perhaps better and more lasting. The Constitution has been elevated to a sacred document in many peoples’ minds, but the real highest law is the Declaration of Independence. We need to rewrite it to apply to today and give it even stronger teeth to mandate that we never arrive at this place again.

    I welcome everyone’s feedback and participation in this discussion. It is critically important and worthy of all of our time. This and the methods/plans of how to force it to occur are precisely what necessitates a Continental Congress.

  16. rosettasister Says:

    Julie London “Wives and Lovers”

  17. Tenacity Says:

    Favorite love song: Overs from the Bookends Album

  18. j.b. Says:

    http://play.rhapsody.com/barry-white/the-ultimate-collection/youre-the-first-the-last-my-everything?didAutoplayBounce=true

    Well, for me, it’s gotta be Barry White………..this one AND Can’t Get Enough Of Your Love, Babe.

    🙂

  19. rosettasister Says:

    We sure do have some sweet men and women here:

    Simon & Garfunkel – Overs

  20. rosettasister Says:

    Barry White -Can’t Get Enough Of Your Love Babe

  21. rosettasister Says:

    My kitty loves Barry White!

  22. JAC Says:

    Brian Adams
    Please forgive me

  23. Troy Says:

    rosettasister Says:

    February 14, 2009 at 10:23 pm
    My kitty loves Barry White!
    **********************
    Lmaoooo

  24. j.b. Says:

    rosettasister Says:

    February 14, 2009 at 10:23 pm
    My kitty loves Barry White!

    LMAO. Kitty…….heh.

    Orrrrrrrr, how ’bout a little Teddy Pendergrass? Mmmmmmm……
    I saw him in concert and embarrassed myself. At least that what my friend told me. I think I really embarrassed HER. I did not give a shit. 🙂

    http://play.rhapsody.com/teddy-pendergrass/life-is-a-song-worth-singing/close-the-door
    And this one….http://play.rhapsody.com/teddy-pendergrass/tp/love-tko

  25. rosettasister Says:

    I love my country!

    Mormon Tabernacle Choir sing “Battle Hymn of the Republic”

  26. Troy Says:

    I’ll Never Let You Go

  27. CJ Says:

    Rose that is one of the most patriotic songs ever written and the “Choir” sings it magnificently. Thanks for the Righteous Brothers by the way!

  28. j.b. Says:

    I am so s’posed to leaving right now…………here I sit with the ear phones on.

  29. rosettasister Says:

    I just found this and had to pass it on!

    1. I love my Creator, the Lord God of Israel, and his Son Jesus.

    2. I love my family!

    3. I love mangos.

    4. I love gardening.

    5. I love stitchery crafts: sewing, knitting, crochet, spinning, etc.

    6. I love knowing that each day gives me a brand new chance to be
    a better person.

    7. I love the life I’ve been given.

  30. j.b. Says:

    http://play.rhapsody.com/toby-keith/greatest-hits-2/you-shouldnt-kiss-me-like-this

    Toby Keith anyone? Love this song.

  31. j.b. Says:

    Never heard of Stealheart before, dang that guy has some pipes that go pretty high up there.

  32. Troy Says:

    I’ve nevr been much of a fan, but I know some of you ladies like Elvis

  33. rosettasister Says:

    I love my Creator!

    Papal Mass Melanesian Dancers and Singers

  34. Troy Says:

    j.b. Says:

    February 14, 2009 at 10:46 pm
    Never heard of Stealheart before, dang that guy has some pipes that go pretty high up there.
    *******************************************
    Hehehe….Yeah, he can belt it out

  35. Troy Says:

    Roy Orbison singing Unchained Melody…It doesn’t get much better

  36. Troy Says:

    Orbison – Crying

  37. CJ Says:

    Tenacity. Simon adnGarfunkel, my all time favorite singers. Thanks.

    I am really getting more and more hopeful that some good things will be happening now that groups are starting to organize and share ideas. What in your mind needs to be changed in the Declaration? I’ve always held that document to be the highest of standards and a Jeffersonian masterpiece. Why do you feel it needs updating and what would you put in it that isn’t already there?

    I want a new strong third party to become a reality before 2012. I hope your Continental Congress can begin this process. I would like to see what the Repubs do with Michael Steele in charge. May be nothing but am willing to see. I just want something to come out of all this mess that will be too big for the msm to ignore. I am ready to work for it when there is a definite direction and organization beginning to gel and come together. Right now I am doing my DD and paying attention. Thanks for all you are doing.

  38. rosettasister Says:

    I love Elvis!

    elvis presley polk salad annie

  39. Tenacity Says:

    Favorite love song to sing: It’s You (From Music Man)

    Words and Music by Merideth Willson
    Arranged by Robert Rund
    Verse: Words and Music by Robert Rund
    Additional lyrics (2nd chorus) by Robert Rund

  40. Troy Says:

    Hahaha….Polk Salad grows wild around here and it is actually very good, if you like greens.

  41. rosettasister Says:

    I love Tom Petty!

    Tom Petty – Free Fallin’

  42. Troy Says:

    ….and all you want to is ride around Sally, ride Sally ride….

    http://new.music.yahoo.com/videos/BuddyGuy/Mustang-Sally–2142421

  43. JAC Says:

    lol Troy

    younger years did some dirty dancing to THAT song…

    let’s not forget Mony Mony..

    and the inserted lyrcs 🙂

  44. JAC Says:

    Mony Mony Billy Idol version

  45. JAC Says:

    can someone shoot me?

    I do not want to go for the scan and tests monday….. I almost prefer not to know….

  46. Troy Says:

    Traveling Wilburys – End of the Line

  47. rosettasister Says:

    JAC Says:
    February 14, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    can someone shoot me?

    I do not want to go for the scan and tests monday….. I almost prefer not to know….

    —————–

    Dear Lord, Cindy!

    God give you strength.

    Rose

  48. rosettasister Says:

    I do believe Robert Preston (RIP) is my favorite actor ever!

    ‘Till There Was You’ is a song written by Meredith Willson for his 1957 musical play The Music Man, and which also appeared in the 1962 movie version. The song is sung by librarian Marian Paroo (Barbara Cook on Broadway, Shirley Jones in the film) to Professor Harold Hill (portrayed by Robert Preston) toward the end of Act Two.

    The Beatles – Till There Was You

  49. Troy Says:

    JAC Says:

    February 14, 2009 at 11:26 pm
    can someone shoot me?

    I do not want to go for the scan and tests monday….. I almost prefer not to know….
    *****************************************
    Watcha got goin on girl?

  50. rosettasister Says:

    I’m really enjoying this!

    Checking out for a while.

    But I have to play Barry White one more time for my kitty!

    Keep em coming!

    And I wish you love and peace this Valentine’s Day.

    Rose Cupid

  51. Troy Says:

    Here is a real treat for everyone….50 years of history set to three minutes of music

    http://yeli.us/Flash/Fire.html

  52. Tenacity Says:

    CJ,
    The DoI addresses the King of England, it does not clarify that women are included as being created equal, and there are some additional clarifications that could be made relative to individual and states rights v. a federal bureaucracy. The Constitution could be even more restrictive in defining the employment agreement and limiting the authority of the employed (the government officials) and mandating the preservation of the rights of the employer (the People) including the requirement of well-regulated State Militias organized from the grass roots level with no interference or mandates from the employed.

  53. JAC Says:

    Troy, Rose

    my bones hurt all the time…. so they are checking for bone cancer..
    one of the reasons I can spend so much time online.. and late at night… I don’t sleep well

  54. Troy Says:

    JAC Says:

    February 14, 2009 at 11:54 pm
    Troy, Rose

    my bones hurt all the time…. so they are checking for bone cancer..
    one of the reasons I can spend so much time online.. and late at night… I don’t sleep well
    ********************************************
    There are several other more likely reasons besides cancer…Forget the “C” word!!!!

  55. Troy Says:

    From one of my all time favorite bands

  56. JAC Says:

    well I got to go fix dinner….. have flowers, wine, music and candles
    He should be home in an hour……
    I also have a sexy …… well we won’t go there 🙂

  57. LadyTexan Says:

    I’m fashionably late to this Valentine’s party.

    Here is one of my all time favorite love songs:

    The Hollies – The air that I breathe

  58. Troy Says:

    Oh, that’s a good one

  59. j.b. Says:

    http://larrysinclair-0926.blogspot.com/

    DAMN, Larry’s on a tear! You Go Larry! Give those bastards hell!

  60. CJ Says:

    Thanks Tenacity. I need to read the DOI again and really haven’t in a long time. It is true it reflects back to the King of England and we now have to address the “King of Fraud” Obama. Times that try men’s/women’s souls. Just saw that Obama got 60% plus approval rating for how he handled the stimulus bill and the repubs got only a 31% approval for how they handled it. Gallup Poll. What is wrong with people for goodness sake? Does no on understand what is right in front of their eyes? Who the heck did they poll?

  61. igaveup Says:

    jac

    thoughts are with you,
    i have fibromyalgia, so i spend many nights not sleeping either.

    stay well

  62. patriotamy Says:

    I do not remember seeing this on any thread here (maybe wrong..I sometimes am wrong.) but thought I would post again. Resolution to do away with term limits under the constitution.

    http://frwebgate.access.gpo.gov/cgi-bin/getdoc.cgi?dbname=111_cong_bills&docid=f:hj5ih.txt.pdf

  63. Fernley Girl Says:

    JAC,
    My fight song for stage IV cancer, 32 years ago was
    Blue Oyster Cult’s “Don’t Fear the Reaper”
    It was like a war chant then & a victory song now.
    Yeah, I know the song is old, but it still works for me.

  64. toonces777 Says:

    JAC,

    I, too, am a cancer survivor. Ten years this August.

    I love every day that I’m alive. (or as maxine says, “on this side of the flower bed.”)

  65. toonces777 Says:

    Most romantic music: Schubert’s Adagio in D (897 Nocturno).

  66. Tucker82254 Says:

    Yesterday evening Dr. Mike Ritze, Oklahoma state representative has announced on Plains Radio to some 250,000 listeners that he will be joining as an additional plaintiff, my upcoming legal action to unseal Obama’s vital records and check if he is eligible/legitimate for presidency.

    http:// defendourfreedoms.us/2009/02/14/fifth-state-representative-has-joined-our-legal-action-as-a-plaintiffdr-mike-ritze-of-oklahoma.aspx

  67. rosettasister Says:

    Good morning and thanks, Tucker!

    Here is the link:

    http://defendourfreedoms.us/2009/02/14/fifth-state-representative-has-joined-our-legal-action-as-a-plaintiffdr-mike-ritze-of-oklahoma.aspx

  68. rosettasister Says:

    Warning!!! Very funny, but very foul language!

    My husband showed this to me early this morning, it’s going to be one of those days!

    Sony Releases New Stupid Piece Of Shit That Doesn’t Fucking Work

    http://www.theonion.com/content/video/sony_releases_new_stupid_piece_of

  69. rosettasister Says:

    Karl Rove With Hugh Hewitt

    Listen here:

    02130901 Hewitt: Hour 1 – Hugh talks politics and the foibles in the Obama administration with the Architect, Karl Rove, and then takes calls.

    [audio src="http://ht.salemweb.net/townhall/audio/mp3/f806f949-97dd-4a3e-948f-4a04fd02c18a.mp3" /]

    Transcript:

    Karl Rove on the Obama administration so far: “They’re just winging it.”

    http://hughhewitt.townhall.com/talkradio/transcripts/Transcript.aspx?ContentGuid=4e4b8cbf-9b27-429e-abfb-c972e457f647

  70. Katie Says:

    Darn it! I thought these coins were going to make me rich!

    http://consumerist.com/5153770/obama-collectors-coins-turn-out-to-be-stickers-stuck-on-regular-coins

  71. CJ Says:

    Good morning. I wanted to post the following as an added warning from an expert. I feel it is important to take note of people like this. It comes from an email newsletter I receive from a gentleman named Jim Sinclair. He is an advocate for investing in gold. Very knowledgeable and well-respected. He has a website that is involved in everything about gold. He has been warning of this for a long time. I don’t have a live link, but his newsletter is “JimSinclair’s JSMine Set”. Here is the fairly short newsletter than I got today:

    “I am the son of what I know to have been the greatest Lone Wolf trader in Wall Street history ever, Bertram J. Seligman. He was a past master at his business and believed to be a market sensitive. I apprenticed to him, learned from him and inherited some of his ability, not all however.

    From this background of experience understanding and sensitivity the following flows.

    The emails of note:

    1. Said, “This is it.”
    2. Said, “It is now.”

    This communication is to inform you as of 2/13/09, “It is totally out of control.” There is no longer any means of reversal of the beginning of the final phase of the downward spiral now solidly set in motion.

    For your sake, protect yourselves immediately.

    Be prepared for disruptions in distribution common to hyperinflation.

    1. You should have already distanced yourself from your financial agents. If you haven’t you are headed for significant displeasure and strain.

    2. Make sure you stay three months ahead on necessary items that could experience distribution delays such as prescribed medicine and preferred foods.

    3. Even though real estate is far from a buy, if you can afford a second home outside of major cities it would serve a good purpose.

    4. Own gold.

    5. Consider that good gold shares of non-US companies incorporated in a non-US country operating in third country, traded on multiple exchanges are a means of money expatriation legally and in broad daylight if required.

    6. For currencies, all you can do is own a spread held by a true custodial ship wherever that might be.

    Simply said, as of Friday February 13th, 2009 the situation is in confirmed “Out of Control” mode as this well engineered downward spiral enters into a terminal phase.

    The motive was profit and degree of the disintegration caused in the pursuit of this goal was not anticipated.

    The key event was when Lehman was flushed – all hell broke loose. The hell cannot be contained in any practical manner.

    I seek nothing of you but the protection of yourselves.

    Respectfully yours,
    Jim”

  72. susiezen Says:

    The summer wind came blowing in from across the bay….
    in lingered there and toucher your hair, and walk with me…
    all summer long we sang a song……..

    Frank Sinatra could sing the phone book and it would be a hit {his own quote, speaking in the third person} arrogant, but a great voice,came from the greatest generation.

    I lost you, lost you to the summer wind …..one summer wind
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM!!! hope you have your bells and whistles on!

  73. Tenacity Says:

    FYI: Dr. Edwin Vieira referred me personally and those listening on the conference call to http://www.goldmoney.com as a means of banking with gold & silver. This patented process allows you to own the metal yourself and easily transact business. They have over 500 Billion in deposits and have operated successfully since 2001. Doc V referred to the owner as James. The metals are maintained in secure vaults in London and Zurich. The deposits are insured through Lloyds of London.

    Also, if you can trust Plains Radio at all, Plains has a new sponsor that is supposed to be on the show Monday or Tuesday that will sell gold at 10% over wholesale. Some dealers charge up to 60% over wholesale. I don’t have any knowledge of this woman or her operation, but it might be educational to listen to the show.

  74. CJ Says:

    Another great read that was posted at Atlas Shrugs is from Jon Jay and his “Summer Patriot Winter Soldier” blog. He is a fine writer and very intelligent. Worth a look, but it is long and intense to read. Here’s an excerpt:

    ” it is my view that the west, in particular western europe, barely exists, because such persons are hardly extent, with the exception of a wilders, or a de winter or a belien, here and there.

    it is my view that the united states, especially with the election of barrack obama and the democratic congress, the most radically socialistic politicians ever to hold office in this country, is rapidly moving toward the situation found in europe simply because we have forgotten our intellectual and political heritage, and with ever more rapidity move towards a collectivist’s view of history and analysis which neither will support our freedoms, nor which will allow them. in short, we are perilously close to a societal wide repudiation of the values and intellectual premises which underpinned our rise as a society. our station in this world, or rights and liberties, will not long endure”

  75. CJ Says:

    Tenacity: I am contemplating cashing in a cd and buying gold and silver bullion. Do you have a favorite place to get them from? I have been researching some on-line and locally, but obviously am looking for the best deal. If you already posted that I apologize. My memory banks are not as large as they used to be LOL. Thanks.

  76. Tenacity Says:

    CJ,
    Did you see my last post just a few minutes ago?

  77. susiezen Says:

    Rose you have quite an eclectic array of music likes, must be a passion.
    You must really love todays techno gadgets…mp3’s etc…

  78. susiezen Says:

    Ten, its Zen…well you confirmed my thoughts of conservatives fearing a “radical” joining of forces.
    I feel that there is a certain ammount of division to some conservatives when it comes to confronting the establishment as it is being run today.
    I think we like to rely on politicians to at the very least, be somewhat ethical.
    Im so burned out, on about two hrs sleep, my eyes keep crossing.
    Im with you ten, a true third party is such a nessessity…
    I cant get the song out of my head…we got to join together with the band

  79. rosettasister Says:

    New Thread:

    https://rosettasister.wordpress.com/2009/02/15/islamist-militants-call-ceasefire-in-pakistans-swat-by-junaid-khan/

  80. CJ Says:

    Tenacity: I did see that post and have gone to that site many times. It’s a good one. Just wondered if you had any others that you trust. I didn’t make myself clear and I apologize. I appreciate your input and feel that you are steering us in positive directions. Sorry for the mix-up and thanks.

Comments are closed.


