Folk Roots, New Routes — Davey Graham & Shirley Collins

by

folk-roots

davy-graham-shirley-collins-folk-roots-new-routes-01-nottamun-town

davy-graham-proud-maisrie-folk-roots-new-routes

shirley-collins-davey-graham-blue-monk

davy-graham-shirley-collins-folk-roots-new-routes-05-hares-on-the-mountain

06-reynardine

http://www.4shared.com/file/71220368/9087e35e/Davy_Graham__Shirley_Collins_-_Folk_Roots_New_Routes_-_03_-_The_Cherry_Tree_Carol.html

“Cherry Tree Carol”

Lyrics

Joseph was an old man, an old man was he,
When he married sweet Mary, she’s Queen of Galilee.

Now Joseph had wedded Mary and home had her brought.
Mary proved with child but Joseph knew her not.

Oh, Joseph and Mary went walking in thr grove,
They saw cherries and berries as red as any rose.

And up spoke young Mary, so meek and so mild,
“Oh, pick me cherries, Joseph, for I am with Child.”

Then Joseph flew in anger, in anger flew he,
“Let the father of your baby pick cherries for thee.”

The up spoke the baby Jesus, all in his mother’s womb,
“Bow down low, you cherry tree, let my mother have some.”

And the very tall branches bowed low to her knee,
And Mary picked cherries by one, two and three.

Now Mary had a young son which she dandled on her knee,
“Come tell me, sweet baby, what will this world be?”

“Oh, this world,” he said, “is no other than stones in the street
But the sun, moon, and stars will sail under thy feet.

“And I must not be rocked in silver or gold
But in some wooden cradle like the babes are rocked all.

“And on the sixth day of January my birthday will be,
When the skies and the elements will tremble for me.”

cherryblossom1108stclair

4 Responses to “Folk Roots, New Routes — Davey Graham & Shirley Collins”

  1. calli Says:

    Rosetta,
    You have been busy as a bee with all the posts!! I have been under the weather for a couple of days. I have some catching up to do!!!
    Is Larry going to be okay? I know we all have a difference of opinion at times but I don’t want anyone sick or to get hurt!! I hope he succeeds with his book!! What about yours???
    It seems at times we all get angry or upset but the way I see it, our bark is worse than our bite!!!

  2. rosettasister Says:

    calli Says:
    November 12, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    I have been under the weather for a couple of days. I have some catching up to do!!!

    (I had a feeling something was wrong, calli. I hope you’re feeling better now.)

    Is Larry going to be okay? I know we all have a difference of opinion at times but I don’t want anyone sick or to get hurt!! I hope he succeeds with his book!!

    (I don’t know how Larry is. But I’m going to try and find out.)

    What about yours???

    (I’m still working on my trash novel. It’s very therapeutic! Just kidding!)

    It seems at times we all get angry or upset but the way I see it, our bark is worse than our bite!!!

    (As my children used to say, “Word.”)

    What does that mean, anyway?!

    I used to work with a young man who always made me laugh.

    He used to say,

    “You know what I’m sayin’, you know what I’m sayin’!”

  3. calli Says:

    Rosetta,
    Let me explain what I mean by the remark ” your bark is worse than your bite .Sometimes My 2 dogs bark furiously especially when someone knocks on the door!! I tell the person at the door not to worry their bark is worse than their bite. I mean they wouldn’t harm a fly!! The same can be said about people!! Some of us are too compassionate and show more emotion than others!! I guess it’s silly to compare!!!
    How many children do you have?? Children can be such a blessing!!
    I don’t think you have it in you to write a trash novel and even if you did, you must have a good reason!! I do think you should write a book on what I suggested!! It’s a feeling that I have!!

  4. meg Says:

    Hi,
    Long time no chat – I hope you know I have taken on Cloud and on the D-blog she has threatened me with the police… I just want to apologize for not supporting you enough and I wasn’t there for you – I am sorry

Comments are closed.


